Patient Reviews: Dr. Mark Tenholder

Mark J. Tenholder, M.D.

4.923075
Verified Patient Rating: 4.92 (52 patient reviews and ratings)

The following are reviews from patients of Dr. Tenholder.

“Perfect!”
– Richard M.
Patient Rating:
5
“As always an enjoyable office visit.”
– Rita M.
Patient Rating:
5
"I have been with Dr. Tenholder for 2 yrs, physical therapy for previous knee replacements, 2 broken bones and 2 surgeries. I will not go to anyone else, he is compassionate, extremely knowledgeable and talented in his surgical abilities. This includes his team. I continually recommend him. He is one of the finest doctors I have ever had!" – Robin E.
Patient Rating:
5
"My initial consult with Rick (PA) and then Dr. Tenholder were both positive experiences. The TKR surgery was scheduled with very little fanfare, and upon checking into the Ft. Walton Beach Medical Center, everyone was very positive. The surgery went very well, the recovery in the hospital (having my own private room), the nursing staff and the culinary chefs were OUTSTANDING. I highly recommend Dr. Tenholder as a surgeon who performs excellent surgery, assisted by Rick and the other staff at the various offices. GREAT JOB to ALL, and, I am recommending your organization to anyone needed information or surgeries. " – Dr. Wayne A.
Patient Rating:
5
"My experiences with replacing both knees were excellent.  The staff from receptionist to Dr. Tenholder treated me with respect; polite and extremely professional. I share the positive experience with all my fellow co-workers as well as others that notice the scar and or limp. I would not hesitate to use Orthopedic Associates in the future, if needed." – Scotty L.
Patient Rating:
5
" Had my second hip replaced in October, 2016. My first hip was replaced in December, 2015.   The quality of my life is most certainly improved and my  expectations were all met or exceeded.   My sincere thanks to the Doctors and Staff at Orthopedics Associates." – George V.
Patient Rating:
5
"I was satisfied with my experience at Orthopedic Associates. The office staff was friendly and efficient. I received physical therapy services and was very pleased with my therapist Tina. She was understanding and worked with me to determine an attainable goal. Thanks to her and the staff in physical therapy I have improved and maintained my strength and mobility." – Dawn D. 
Patient Rating:
5
"In May 2015, Dr. Tenholder removed an 8" support blade and screws (installed in 1993) from my right knee in preparation for a full knee replacement, which occurred in October 2015. Both operations were successful. I found Dr. Tenholder, his PA Rick, and his assistant Malcolm to be pleasant, easy to talk with, and frankly honest in their assessments of my condition and responses to my questions. After the knee replacement in October 2015, I performed my physical therapy at the Orthopaedic Associates site in Destin and was extremely satisfied with the therapists there. I have also found the administrative staff at the Destin office to be pleasant and attentive. All and all, my experiences with Orthopaedic Associates have been outstanding and I would highly recommend the group to others." – Worth G.     
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Tenholder has been seeing me on and off through my medical problems. First was my knee injury work related, unfortunately, but he did everything to get it back to working with the help of physical therapy and knee brace, even everything went smoothly thru workman's comp. Then my recent medical problem, shoulder impingement, I went to him again and he gave me a cortisone shot, wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be and been going to physical therapy again, but my shoulder is getting better! Dr. Tenholder is a great doctor who keeps me going and if I have another ortho problem, he will be my choice of doctor to go to! And not to forget the awesome staff he has there! Very friendly and understanding!" – Marlena J. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I am seen at the Destin office and from the time I walk in the door until I leave everything is perfect. Always a smile on the receptionist's face. You are seen in a timely manner. Care is great. I feel well taken care of and my questions are answered. Very well run office and your employees all seem content which speaks for itself." – Patricia I. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I have had major surgeries several times over the years. My experience with Dr. Tenholder and staff was the best. My hip replacement from discovery through post-op therapy was 5 star." – Dale H. 
Patient Rating:
5
"My left arm was in constant pain and completely unusable. Had a rotator cuff repair and after a few months of therapy, my arm functions perfectly with absolutely no pain. My results far exceed any expectations I had." – Robert B.  
Patient Rating:
5
"Has a good bedside manner. Makes knowledgeable decisions based on his experience." – Ray H. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I had a Left Knee Total Replacement. Everything was successful. No problem with anything. The key thing is to take the class before the surgery and follow the Doctor orders. Attend to all the Physical Therapy exercise class.  By me doing this, I have not been back. But for regular check up only." – Barbara Y. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Tenholder was excellent. Total hip replacement was a total success. I would recommend him to anyone that needs a hip replacement. The entire staff was excellent and a pleasure to deal with. I was in and out of the hospital and one day. Chipping and putting in two weeks, full rounds of golf in 6 weeks. A total success and all arthritic pain is gone." – Robert
Patient Rating:
5
"I am always seen on time, and the doctors and staff treat me with courtesy and always explain my problem and the treatment." - Vivian L.
Patient Rating:
5
"I had knee replacement surgery on March 1, 2016. Throughout the entire process, I was impressed with the professionalism of the entire staff. They were all very caring. My experience with the rehab staff was very enjoyable also. Lloyd Harris was my therapist during my entire rehab. I could not have asked for a more caring and professional therapist. I would recommend Orthopaedic Associates to anyone." - Kenneth R.
Patient Rating:
5
"I am a US Marine Veteran and the VA system is slow. This procedure on me was put in Dr. Tennholder's hands. Orthopaedic Associates and my doctor took the best care and did it in a very timely manner allowed by VA. Now I am in much better shape due to the diligence of the doctor and staff of Orthopaedic Associates. Thank You." - Dana C.
Patient Rating:
5
"While visiting in Florida, I had a terrible pain in my neck and shoulders. Saw the doctor and he prescribed a medication and physical therapy. Both worked well and I was able to spend my ten weeks in Florida pain free." - Jacqueline I.
Patient Rating:
5
"Doctor Tenholder perform a hip procedure for me in November 2015. He has been very professional, very attentive as well as his associates. My pre-op process and post-op process was very easy. Plus my rehab. with Orthopaedic Associates {Jeri, Lloyd and Tina} went very well. I would strongly recommend Doctor Tenholder and his staff to anyone in need of his services as a referral. Plus my hospital stay was a "rock star" visit." – George L. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I was seeking care for my knee problem. Dr. Tenholder evaluated and set forth a plan just for me. His PA was very nice and very caring. Thanks, Dr. Tenholder and staff" – Robert B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Although I came to Dr. Tenholder after 9 surgeries from another provider, he has been very patient and professional with his diagnostic opinions. Dr. Tenholder is now my doctor of choice for orthopaedic care. His recommendations regarding my care have continued to increase my quality of life. I'm glad I did my research and chose Dr. Tenholder." – Robin E. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Our experience With Dr. Tenholder was amazing. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable in all departments. We (my daughter and I) had an all around wonderful experience at Orthopaedic Associates! Highly recommend it to anyone." – Erin M. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Tenholder has performed several surgeries for me. I have been very happy with the results. Follow-up appointments were always a pleasant experience. Always seen in a timely manner; I do not recall a time having to wait beyond the scheduled appointment time.  The surgical center staff has been excellent; from intake to discharge instructions. Very thorough and caring.   The PT staff at FWB has been most helpful and caring. They present a challenging program, while not over doing it.  I would definitely recommend Dr. Tenholder and Orthopaedic Associates." – John S.  
Patient Rating:
5
"Everyone is professional and friendly." – Diana P. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Amazing service! The women at the desk handled a lot of clients & phone calls at the same time & were very courteous & knowledgeable. The doctor was very helpful, as well as his assistant. I'm an RN & have been in health care since 79. I was very impressed!" – Deborah M. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Without fail, Dr. Tenholder always walks in the door with a smile & his hand extended for a warm welcome. He listens attentively, does not interrupt but will ask questions for additional info. I never feel rushed or that my issue is insignificant. For my issues, Dr Tenholder explained the treatment options and gave recommendations when I asked his opinion. I'm glad that my primary doctor recommend Dr. Tenholder and I highly recommend Dr. Tenholder." – Carmen G.  
Patient Rating:
5
"From the beginning of my procedure to the end the staff was awesome. They were more than willing to listen to an old man's stories which goes a long ways to lowering anxiety." – Dana C.  
Patient Rating:
5
"This is my 2nd hip replacement that Dr. Tenholder has performed on me. I think the doctor is great. His team is great. After the 1st operation I had, I knew I would not find a better doctor than Dr. Tenholder. He has a great staff that was very easy to work with and took great care of me." – William P. 
Patient Rating:
5
"After a fall off my bicycle in April of 2014 resulting in a nasty injury to my hip, at seventy years of age there was no relief from the pain from my injury. Pain and poor night sleep resulted in a ruined life. Came across some wise words of wisdom from Elementary school:                                   For every ailment under the sun,                                There is a remedy, or there is none.                                If there be one, try to find it.                                If there be none, never mind it . Mother goose was correct then and still is now.  So needless to say, having already been acquainted with the surgeon's at Orthopedic Associates, it was just admitting to myself  that the time had arrived to have the procedure performed and get my life back. And just two months later I'm just about back to my normal life, pain-free and wonderful restful nights rest. Thank you to the wonderful staff and Doctor's at Orthopedic Associates." – George V.   
Patient Rating:
5
"I am a snowbird in Florida for the winter. Dr. Tenholder accepted me as a patient in spite of my out of state status. I was given a series of three shots for knee pain. My visits went well and the shots provide me with pain relief. Staff and doctor were all very professional. Thank you for your care and I will return for further care." – Judith P. 
Patient Rating:
5
"After a bicycle mishap which caused injury to my right hip, a consultation with my doctor and X-rays verified an injury which was not improving with physical therapy or other minor treatment, in my case age also was a factor. Quality of life issues became apparent. Proceeded with the hip replacement and am now two weeks out and the constant daily pain is gone and mobility is increasing quickly. Looking forward to getting my life back and am glad to be rid of the pain." – George V. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Always professional and caring. He listens." Hj M.
Patient Rating:
5
"I have had the good fortune to have the staff at Orthopaedic Associates help me through 2 separate bicep tears. Both injuries were Worker's Comp and both took a great deal of effort by all parties to get things signed off in time to make a timely repair. Everyone that I have ever dealt with on your great staff has been professional and each has gone out of their way to insure me that all that could be done was actually being done. Both repairs took a while to get back to 100%, but they finally did and I am back to doing arduous work related activities with no limitations. I felt privileged to have Dr. Tenholder do both surgeries and would recommend him without reservation. If I ever need further ortho work done, it will be done by him and the great staff that work at all your various sites. Thank you for the opportunity to share my experience. It is great to have such a team locally." – Charlie B.  
Patient Rating:
5
"I had my second knee replacement with Dr. Tenholder holder this past May. The surgery went well, and I was home from Sacred Heart Hospital in a couple days. I am 68, and I was up and walking right away with a walker for only a few days, and then a cane. After about 3 weeks I didn't need any assistance, and was driving a 6 weeks. The outpatient PT with Matt and the rest of the staff at Orthopaedic Associates in Destin, was great. I am at 6 months post surgery. I can now walk a couple miles, and ride my bike for an hour, with little or no pain. I highly recommend this practice, and Dr.Tenholder." – Toby O.  
Patient Rating:
5
"I had my second knee replacement with Dr. Tenholder holder this past May. The surgery went well, and I was home from Sacred Heart Hospital in a couple days. I am 68, and I was up and walking right away with a walker for only a few days, and then a cane. After about 3 weeks I didn't need any assistance, and was driving a 6 weeks. The outpatient PT with Matt and the rest of the staff at Orthopaedic Associates in Destin, was great. I am at 6 months post surgery, I can now walk a couple miles, and ride my bike for an hour, with little or no pain. I highly recommend this practice, and Dr.Tenholder." – Toby O.  
Patient Rating:
5
"Excellent doctor, knees are working very well" – Michael J.
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Tenholder and his staff were very professional, courteous and compassionate in the treatment of my knees. I could not be a more satisfied patient and even referred my mother and best friend to Dr. Tenholder!" – Linda Y.  
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Tenholder did a total knee replacement for me in January 2015. I have never been more pleased with the outcome. I have no pain and am totally pleased with the outcome of my surgery. Dr Tenholder is an exceptional surgeon. His physician assistant Rick is extremely qualified and knowledgeable. The office staff, from checking to radiology to checkout, are terrific! After my surgery, I used Orthopaedic Associates Rehab department to do my physical therapy. They, too, are excellent! If ever I need an Orthoapedic medical practice in the future, I will definitely return to Orthopaedic Associates." – Dianne H.
Patient Rating:
5
"Excellent from start to finish. I could not be happier." – Dave
Patient Rating:
5
"I had a right total hip surgery on Jan 20th 2015. The hip had collapsed on itself and the pain was so intense I had to use a walker and could put only a slight amount of weight on it, plus had to shift my weight around often just to get comfortable sitting and lying down. The day after surgery the pain had subsided approximately 80% and physical therapy had me up and walking with a walker. I was only in the hospital two days, driving in two weeks and rehab went so well that I was totally independent in about one month." -- Paul S. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Appointments were both a very good experience for me, Dr. Tenholder and his PA's were very attentive and concerned about my issues. The radiologist was so sweet and caring about my injury. I couldn't ask for for better treatment or more concerned doctors. Thank you all! Everyone is very friendly, polite, and very punctual." – Gerry B.    
Patient Rating:
5
"One Friday afternoon in August 2015, I ended up in the Fort Walton Beach emergency room due to breaking my elbow and arm in two places. Lucky for me Dr. Mark Tenholder was on call and performed surgery on my arm the next morning. I feel very fortunate and forever grateful for the outstanding surgical technique performed by Dr. Tenholder. I strongly believe that his expertise ensured my arm would be as if I had never broke it." – Lisa B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I recently had a Hip replacement and here I am at six weeks and my life is back to normal... I can recommend Dr Tenholder, and I do to everyone who will listen, he is most attentive. He listens to all questions and makes me feel important as a patient. His staff is exceptional, the treatment I received was first-class all the way. I was impressed with Fort Walton Beach Medical Center: I was only there three days but the treatment I received at a difficult time was the best. Thank you to Dr. Tenholder and your team, I really appreciate your kind care and consideration, but must add that thank goodness—I only have two hips!!" -- Anne M. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I have seen Dr. Tenholder on several different visits for unrelated problems. In each visit, he has been the friendliest, courteous, and caring individual that he has always been. It is always a pleasure to have him as one of my medical providers, and I have recommended him to others, who totally agree with me after their experience with him. He is obviously one skillful practitioner with a great patient demeanor. The area is extremely fortunate to have him practicing his skills here. Kudos to Dr. Tenholder and his staff." -- Paul S.
Patient Rating:
"I had a full knee replacement on May 27. I am 67, and have had severe knee pain in both knees for a couple years, due to lots of running. The operation went without a hitch, and I was out of the hospital in two days. After two weeks of in-home therapy, I did multiple weeks of physical therapy at Orthopaedic Associates located in Destin.  Therapist Matt Leary was just excellent. After one week at home, I was walking with just a cane and no walker. By the end of two weeks, I was walking pretty much with no assistance. I won't kid anyone, and say there was no pain involved because there was. But, it was managed well by the doctors, so it was not a huge deal. Just don't let the pain get ahead of you. Take the pain pills as directed. Also, the stronger you can get your knee, hip, shoulder, etc., prior to surgery, I think the faster your recovery will be. That appeared to be the case with me. All the people at Orthopaedic Associates and at Sacred Heart Hospital were great. I could not have been treated better. I will probably have Dr. Tenholder and his team, do my right knee prior to the end of the year. Not something I am looking forward to, but at least I know the drill now, and will not be so nervous this time around. Thanks again to Dr. Tenholder and his team, including the office staff." -- Toby O.
Patient Rating:
"I had a great experience. My granddaughter Kayleigh and I were taking a quick beach trip, prior to school starting. We live in Brentwood, Tennessee, and were staying in Destin. Within 2 hours of starting our vacation, she fell and broke her wrist. We were directed to Fort Walton’s Pediatric ER, and had a wonderful experience. There was a very short wait. A friend from Fort Walton recommended Dr. Tenholder. So we decided to make an appointment, instead of ending our vacation and driving back to Nashville to see an orthopaedic doctor. We were able to get in the next day, and get a waterproof pink cast that did not end our vacation.  Great experience, great care." -- Karen C.
Patient Rating:
"I suffered severely with knee pain each time I took a step. I was advised to have knee replacements. With the doctor’s advice, I decided to have the surgery on the left knee first, as it was causing the most pain. I had full confidence in Dr. Tenholder, and he scheduled the surgery. The surgery went well. About 2 weeks later, I fell, tearing the surgery loose, and the doctor had to replace it. Even with those complications, it healed perfectly. After the therapy, there has been no pain in that knee. Two years later, it was time to have the second knee replaced. It was successful, and after therapy, there has been no pain in that knee. I tell everyone that has knee pain to see Dr. Tenholder, that I think he is a wonderful surgeon, and a kind and considerate person. Having two knee replacements is the best thing that has happened to me. To once again be able to walk without pain is a miracle. Thank you, Dr. Tenholder.” -- Marilyn Y.
Patient Rating:
"I have been a patient of Dr. Tenholder for 2 years. Dr. Tenholder has always been a professional and very knowledgeable doctor. All of his staff is all skilled and courteous, especially PA, Rick Sneller and Malcomb Lightfoot. His receptionist Sherri Scott is always pleasant, and greets patients with a warm smile. I decided to have a total knee replacement surgery after the pain became unbearable. My husband and I had an appointment with Dr. Tenholder inquiring about a total knee replacement surgery. I was impressed with the amount of time Dr. Tenholder spent in discussing my condition and surgery procedures. He never seemed to rush, and he took the time to answer all our questions. Dr. Tenholder put me at ease about my knee surgery. I had my total knee replacement surgery August 12, 2014. He did such a good job. I was out of the hospital after two days. I was able to walk with a cane after week. I give credit to Dr. Tenholder for a successful surgery and fast recovery. I appreciate Dr. Tenholder's surgical skill. Dr. Tenholder is the only orthopaedic place to go for a professional and competent treatment. I have told this surgery success many times, to anyone seeking a competent and skilled orthopaedic doctor. I highly recommend their services to all I know. I've talked to many people at church, who are also Dr. Tenholder patients. They have nothing but good praise on Dr. Tenholder." -- Purita S.
Patient Rating:
"Had this little pain and it was from a worn out hip. Dr. Tenholder told me all about it. Then, after getting other things out of the way, I asked him to fix it. So he did. He fixed it, replacing the old thing with a new model. I behaved as well as I could after surgery, but it was working so well, I began walking distances really soon. At six weeks, I could walk four miles. Unlike two of my friends having similar procedures away from Destin, I have had no reasons to see the doctor again, except when I pass him on my way out of the office and thank him. Think I may try a back flip on my next birthday... My 75th." -- Bob S.
Patient Rating:
"I am always pleased with the efficiency of all the staff as for scheduling appointments, or getting me to the right location to see the doctor. I recently saw Dr. Tenholder about what turned out to be a torn rotator cuff. He has replaced both of my knees in the past and I consider him to be a wonderful surgeon and a person. He and his assistant are such an asset to your practice." -- Marilyn Y.
Patient Rating:
"We are snowbirds from Canada and are thrilled to enjoy the wonderful Destin Area during the winter months. A few years ago, my husband broke his ankle and was treated by Dr. Tenholder. My husband had surgery on his ankle and due to the skill and expertise of Dr. Tenholder, has never had a problem with his ankle. Recently, (this year) I sprained my knee while in Destin, and the hospital advised me to follow up with an orthopaedic surgeon.  Naturally, we chose Dr. Tenholder and again were very pleased with the results. He has a very pleasant demeanor, a good sense of humor, makes you feel at ease, and makes time to talk with you. All in all, our experience at your clinic was a very positive experience. Thank you." -- Betty N.
Patient Rating:
"I have been Dr. Mark Tenholder's patient for many years. He has operated on my left shoulder, removing a bone spur and repairing a torn rotator cuff with very good results. He also performed 3 knee surgeries on my left knee with the final one being a total knee replacement. He has monitored and treated my right knee through the years. My husband and I consider him the very best orthopaedic surgeon on the planet! I've seen Dr. Watt only twice but he has helped my arthritic hands and joints very much. I think he will eventually operate on them for me as well. I wouldn't have anyone else!" -- Buni O.
Patient Rating:
"Dr. Tenholder repaired a complete AC tear on my left shoulder. It was very professional, informative, and the staff was great as well. I am healing up wonderfully and would highly recommend him to anyone." -- Cindy F.
Patient Rating:
"Unfortunately, I have required the services of an orthopaedic specialist multiple times in the past 5 years due to injuries sustained during the course of my duties as a Deputy Sheriff. FORTUNATELY, the doctors and staff at Orthopaedic Associates have been there for me every time. Doctors Tenholder, Warburton, and Macey are my personal superheroes. I have had an ACL replaced, multiple meniscus repairs, a hip bursectomy, and some crazy stuff done to repair and correct major pain involving my sciatic nerve. Through it all and still, since I require annual check-ups, the doctors at Orthopaedic Associates have stood by me, giving me excellent medical care, and ensuring I got back to work as quickly as possible. I feel like the bionic woman who has been put back together by the most capable and personable team of surgeons available.  I am welcomed by name every time I come into an office or for physical therapy, and always feel like I am getting the full attention and best efforts of whomever I come in contact with.  They listen to your concerns and individualize your recovery plan to help you get up and going as soon as possible. The experience of surgery and rehab generally isn't a pleasant one, but the wonderful people at Orthopaedic Associates make it the best it can be." -- Sonya S.
Patient Rating:
"Dr. Mark Tenholder did a fantastic job of saving and mending my broken leg!  It was broken in 8 pieces from my ankle to mid leg!  It took 18 screws and two titanium plates to repair.  Today, I ride a bicycle about 6 to 18 miles a day in good weather.  Thank you to all the staff for being so friendly and helpful in my recovery.  On cold, wet days, it hurts just like it just happened!  On nice days, it’s almost like the accident never happened.  I'm sure later I may be walking with a cane! I am grateful to be able to ride a bicycle daily and enjoy the outdoors! Thank you, very much!" --Rick D.
Patient Rating:
“I went to Orthopaedic Associates for severe pain in my left shoulder. They diagnosed the problem right away and gave me a shot in the shoulder. The whole staff was so nice, helpful, and I felt so good after leaving their office. Dr. Tenholder and his P.A. were very professional and so down to earth. It was a great experience, considering the circumstances, and I would highly recommend Orthopaedic Associates to anyone!” -- Karen Russell
Patient Rating:
"Wore out the left hip doing things I enjoyed every day. It began to hurt and the enjoyment just couldn't make it go away. After a visit or two with Dr. Tenholder, it was decided the hip needed to be replaced so I could wear out a new one. He and his wonderful team replaced it October 22, 2013 at Sacred Heart. I think I enjoyed that as much as I could. About November 1st or so, I walked a mile, before the end of the month, two miles, and before new years day, four. Now, those walks and progressively increasing them was a lot more than enjoyable. Today, I have some mild discomfort, but continue walking from two to four miles daily like a mailman - in all kinds of weather." -- Bob S.
Patient Rating:
-A +A